ITM LIBRARY - LIBRARY GUIDE
Institute of Tropical Medicine Antwerp

The Library

ITM library home page Books Journals Electronic journals Databases WebSPIRS Internet links ITM home page
Last updated on January 1, 2014 |
Nederlandse versie | Version française

 

Library guide 2014

1. General information
2. Address, opening hours, staff
3. Library tour
4. Catalogs and databases
5. Audiovisual materials
6. Photocopying and document delivery
7. Borrowing or buying books
8. Interlibrary document supply
9. Current awareness of the new literature


1. General information

The library of the Institute of Tropical Medicine (ITM) in Antwerp specialises in literature on the following subjects: tropical medicine and international health, epidemiology, infectious and parasitic diseases, microbiology (bacteriology, virology, mycology), parasitology (protozoology, helminthology), medical entomology, tropical nutrition, tropical veterinary medicine and animal husbandry.

Its main collection consists of 30,000 books, about 10,000 current journal subscriptions (mostly in electronic format), and about 40,000 bound periodical volumes.

In addition to books, journals and other printed materials, the library also has a small collection of interactive computer and video programmes on general or tropical human and veterinary medicine.

The library is open to ITM staff and ITM students. Other qualified people can also make use of the library facilities, provided they first contact the librarian. External visitors are requested to register at the reception desk at the main entrance of the institute.

Top


2a. How to reach the library

 

Address: Nationalestraat 155 (4th floor), B-2000 Antwerpen 1, Belgium
For a map of Antwerp: [small] | [large]
Telephone:  32-(0)3-247.62.40 / 32-(0)3-247.62.41 / 32-(0)3-247.62.44  
Telefax: 32-(0)3-247.07.48
E-mail: bib@itg.be  / docdel@itg.be
Internet: http://lib.itg.be

 

2b. Opening hours

 

September - June (except Christmas holidays): Monday - Friday from 8.30 a.m. till 6.00 p.m.
July - August (and Christmas holidays): Monday - Friday from 8.30 a.m. till 5.00 p.m.
Closed on weekends and holidays.  

 

2c. Library staff

 

Dirk Schoonbaert [librarian] Telephone: 32-(0)3-247.62.40
[photo] E-mail:  bib@itg.be
Kris Didden [assistant librarian] Telephone: 32-(0)3-247.62.41
[photo] E-mail:  kdidden@itg.be
Noor Goemaere Telephone: 32-(0)3-247.62.44
[photo] E-mail:  ngoemaere@itg.be
Christina Van Dijk Telephone: 32-(0)3-247.62.44
[photo] E-mail:  cvandijk@itg.be
Nele Verstraeten Telephone: 32-(0)3-247.62.44
[photo] E-mail:  nverstraeten@itg.be

Top


3. Library tour

The library covers the upper two floors of the central wing of the ITM building. The entrance is situated on the fourth floor, and can be reached using the elevator or the stairs at the side of the parking lot.

On the upper floor, to the right of the entrance, are: the service desk, the library administration area, the photocopying room, the "Dubois" reading room (accessible only for ITM academic and scientific staff), and a closed store room. The larger part of this floor, to the left of the entrance, is taken up by the main reading room (reading room "Broden"), with the meeting room "Janssens" and a small group study room at its far end.

The lower floor (accessible only from the "Broden" reading room) comprises a second reading room where the bound periodicals are stored (room "Rodhain") the video room and two group study rooms.

The vast majority of the library collections are displayed in open access: periodicals are arranged in alphabetical order and books by subject (Barnard classification). When items are not readily available in open access, this is listed in the respective catalogs (ITG Book and Document Holdings and ITG Serial Holdings. A printed periodicals catalog is also available for consultation in most sections of the library. An electronic PDF version is freely downloadable.

More information on the physical arrangement of the library

Top


4. Catalogs and databases

The library offers a number of catalogs and databases for electronic retrieval purposes. The catalogs and databases produced by the ITM library can be accessed through the Internet. The international databases are available for ITM staff or ITM students only. The library journal and book collections are also integrated in national union catalogs such as Antilope (periodicals) and CCB (books).

How to search the databases

Costs

  • Searching the databases is free.
  • Printouts are charged at 0.06 Euro per page.
  • Downloading is free.

Additional documentation

Apart from catalogs and databases, selective lists of books on tropical medicine and related disciplines aimed at medical doctors and nursing staff are available from the ITM library web site. Similar lists with books on tropical veterinary sciences are also available. More specific literature lists of selected reading concerning the major endemic diseases in the tropics are available at the service desk.

Top


5. Audiovisual materials

The library has about 400 video and DVD lessons and programs on general or tropical human and veterinary medicine, which can be viewed on an individual basis.

Apart from these video lessons, a number of interactive computer programs on PC or CD-ROM (e.g. the "Topics in International Health" series; 11 different titles!) are also available.

Top


6. Photocopying and document delivery

The library disposes of a multifunctional photocopy machine, located on the right from the entrance. This can be used only with personal electronic ITM copy badges and a user name / password ID combination. Visitors can temporarily obtain such a badge at the service desk. Photocopy cards from other libraries cannot be used.

ITM staff can obtain photo- or e-copies of requested articles via our dedicated Document Delivery Service (e-mail: docdel@itg.be; tel. 244).

Photocopy prices

  • A4 format photocopies cost 0.06 Euro each.
  • A3 format photocopies cost 0.12 Euro each.
  • Color copies cost 0.45 Euro each.

Attention! Photocopying is subject to international copyright rules:

  • It is not permitted to copy books or journal issues from cover to cover.
  • Photocopies are made exclusively for personal use.

Top

7. Borrowing or buying books

The library does not sell or order any books for private use, either for staff, or for students.

Top


8. Interlibrary document supply

Requests to other libraries

Books not available in the library, or photocopies of journal articles can be requested from other libraries, provided some strict interlibrary regulations are taken into account.

  • Requests from ITM staff are accepted when signed by a staff member with budget responsabilities. They are then charged to the departmental current account (or external fund). Standard charges are 6,80 Euro; British Library: 10 Euro.
  • Requests from outside parties to order photocopies or to borrow books from other libraries are not accepted.

Requests from other libraries

The library also provides photocopies to other libraries, either through the Belgian national document delivery network Impala, or following a written request by post, telefax (32-(0)3-247.07.48) or e-mail (docdel@itg.be).

Prices

  • Articles up to 30 pages, sent by mail or telefax, cost 7 Euro. Additional pages are charged at 0.10 Euro per page.
  • When requested from within the Impala circuit, electronic versions of printed articles up to 30 pages cost 6.80 Euro. Articles exceeding 30 pages are not delivered in electronic format.
Invoices are sent after each quarter. The minimum amount for each invoice is 13 Euro, even if the price of the services rendered amounts to less than 13 Euro.

Requests from outside parties are dealt with in the same way, provided they arrive in written or electronic format. Requests by telephone are not accepted. Members of university or higher education departments should use their own library facilities (interlibrary lending services).

Top


9. Current awareness of the new literature

New journal issues and books are initially kept in the staff room ("Dubois") for a week, so ITM staff can browse them. Staff can then make photocopies of new articles by themselves, or request copies using the available forms. Each Monday morning the weekly intake is renewed.

ITM staff can also make use of TOCAS ("Tables of Contents Alert Service"): each week they will receive the electronic tables of contents of all new issues of a personal selection of journals from our collection by e-mail. Cost: 0,15 Euro per page sent.

Using Current Contents Connect (ISI) the electronic contents pages of the new issues of over 8,000 journals can be browsed or searched. From their websites many journals offer the opportunity to subscribe to a free e-mail-based table of contents alerting service for new issues.

Top


Guide author: Dirk Schoonbaert
ITM library home page Books Journals Electronic journals Databases WebSPIRS Internet links ITM home page